//
you're reading...
Apologetics, Atheism, Christianity, Early Church, Evangelism, Islam

London ‘Christian Thinkers’

Since becoLondon Christian Thinkersming a Christian some ten years ago now I’ve noticed that there appears at least to me a distinct lack of intellectual dialogue in the Christian community. I am not saying that Christian Churches are full of people who are stupid. What I am saying is that the Church is very often full of people who value thought, reason and knowledge in other facets of their life (e.g. work and education) but neglect those virtues in their Christian lives.

This is the more unfortunate because Christianity has such a rich tradition of intellectual rigor. The Christian Church in the West is probably the weakest it has been for a millennia, and what we need more than ever are Christians who are equipped spiritually and intellectually to share the gospel in a culture that thinks Christians are backwards and out of touch. On top of that we have groups and communities of people who think we are dangerous, deluded or just plain old fashioned wrong.

In response I’ve decided to start a group based in South-West London called ‘Christian Thinkers’ where I hope to create a community of Christians who will be equipped to share the gospel in a post-Christian culture. I believe the gospel is good, true and makes sense of the world better than any other worldview but I don’t think we are doing a very good job of communicating this. Rather than conceding ground we ought to start taking ground and by encouraging more Christians to become better informed about Christianity and other worldviews I believe we can do just that.

If you would like to get involved with helping me run the group, have ideas for speakers please leave a comment below and I’ll get in touch. I’ll be aiming to have meetings every 6-10 weeks and try to get speakers who are experts in their respective fields with each talk be followed with time for Q & A.

If you want to find out more, search for London Christian Thinkers on Facebook.

About @Nicodemus

I'm a Holmesian Christian, a former atheist, university lecturer and a husband of one wife.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “London ‘Christian Thinkers’

  1. Reblogged this on Talmidimblogging.

    Like

    Posted by Vincent S Artale Jr | May 3, 2015, 1:49 pm
  2. A little too far for me in Georgia, USA, but I pray for God to have a mighty impact through your work.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Sean Durity | May 4, 2015, 1:39 pm
  3. May God bless your endeavor to not only strengthen fellow believers but to also make new ones.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by triggerman | May 7, 2015, 3:44 am
  4. It sounds really exciting and I would certainly like to be involved. Reigate to Wimbledon is OK as a journey. There are a few isolated centres in the UK where Christian thinking is encouraged but these are mostly in Universities. Like you I became a Christian as an adult and I’ve been amazed by the energy and compassion of my fellow Christians but disappointed by the level of debate in the Church. Yet this is what we need. I don’t know how we get there but I’m sure we don’t get anywhere by standing still.

    I’m not a great facebook person but I will do a search for ‘London Christian Thinkers’. If I don’t succeed then I can always send you an e-mail.

    Monica

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Monica's Books | May 9, 2015, 1:57 pm
    • Hey Monica, thanks for taking the time to comment. I’m glad you’re on board with goals, if you aren’t on Facebook, drop me an email at danieljohnrodgeratgmail.com *change at for @ obviously. Look forward to meeting you there if you manage to make it and please bring friends although maybe let me know the number if you are able. Thanks

      Like

      Posted by @failedatheist | May 10, 2015, 7:37 pm
  5. Hi I’m a newfrontiers member in Bristol and I’d like to talk to you about my work, but can’t find any contact details on your blog. Please email me wordforwordbiblecomic (at) gmail.com

    Thanks.

    Like

    Posted by Alex | July 9, 2015, 6:41 pm

Leave a Reply

